We use cookies
We use cookies to optimize our website. By continuing to browse the site, you agree to our use of cookies.
New design
Control panel
  • Русский
  • Українська
  • English
  • UAH
  • USD
  • RUB
  • EUR
  • 0-800-307-307 Hotline
  • +38 (044) 392-74-33 Kiev
  • +38 (057) 728-39-00 Kharkiv
  • +38 (056) 794-38-31 Dnipro
  • +38 (032) 229-58-93 Lviv
  • +38 (048) 738-57-70 Odessa
  • +38(093) 170-15-42  Life
  • +38 (067) 400-88-44 Kievstar
  • +1(888)393-24-51  USA, Toll free
  • +44(131)507-01-14  Great Britain
  • +7 (499) 348-28-61 Moscow

2.24.3.10. Phishing emails

Phishing is a type of fraud that aims to obtain confidential data for further use by third parties. Quite often, phishing is spread through emails that include important or highly engaging content. For example, phishing aimed at obtaining logins and passwords for mailboxes is very common. For this, letters are sent informing about the need to pass verification or check the disk quota in the mail service. In this case, the letter itself will contain a link or a button directing to a full or partial copy of the authorization page of the target service.

It is often quite difficult to determine whether an email is phishing or not, therefore, when working with emails that explicitly or indirectly request confidential information, you should adhere to certain rules:

  • You should be extremely careful about letters in which, explicitly or indirectly, they urge you to enter confidential data on some page. No service will ask for data that has already been provided earlier, so such an email will most often be phishing.
  • You should always double-check the links that are provided in the letters. If you received a letter from the adm.tools service, but the link in the letter leads to service.tools, it is better not to click on it and instead go to the official website of the service, from which the letter allegedly came, where to double-check all the necessary actions or contact technical support for for more information.
    Advice When you hover over a button or link in the lower left corner of the browser, a full link will be shown, to which the transition will be made.
  • It is recommended to pay special attention to letters sent from allegedly trusted persons. Some domains do not have SPFrecords, in this connection, sending letters with the substitution of their domain is quite real, therefore it is better to once again check with the sender via other communication channels regarding the received letter.
  • If the letter was sent from the same mailbox to which it came, or from the same domain, then it follows check in more detail.
  • You should not download suspicious files, no matter what extension they have. This rule applies not only to devices running on Windows, now a huge amount of malware exists for all platforms, including macOS, iOS, Linux, Android and others.
  • Emails that include the recipient's personal information do not always mean that attackers have access to any confidential data, so it is better to place such emails in spam. This rule especially applies to letters with threats of hacking or dissemination of information. An attacker who has access to personal information will not ask again about its further use with extortion of something, especially since a huge part of personal information can be found on the Internet, mostly in open sources, for example, site contacts or personal pages in social networks.
  • Try to post as little personal information as possible that could be used for phishing.
  • Always set to the highest level antispam, if possible. Antispam can reject a large number of suspicious emails.
  • Received suspicious or clearly phishing emails should be placed in spam and the sender should be blocked. On our hosting, this can be done using blacklist or WebMail filters.

If you are a victim of phishing, you should take appropriate action as soon as possible:

  • Hosting account security:
  • Change all possible passwords that exist:
  • Do not set a similar password or password consisting of personal data, for example: year of birth, first name, last name, part of the phone number, etc. There is a separate area for the selection of such passwords - social engineering.
  • Review which sites or services used the data that was stolen, and change it urgently.
  • If possible, set up two-factor authentication on all available services.

Мы используем cookie-файлы
Для оптимизации работы нашего сайта мы используем cookie-файлы. Продолжая использовать сайт, Вы соглашаетесь с использованием cookie-файлов.
Панель управления
  • Русский
  • Українська
  • UAH
  • USD
  • RUB
  • EUR
  • +38(044) 392-74-33  Киев
  • +38(057) 728-39-00  Харьков
  • +38(056) 794-38-31  Днепр
  • +38(032) 229-58-93  Львов
  • +38(048) 738-57-70  Одесса
  • +38(093) 170-15-42  Life
  • +38(067) 400-88-44  Киевстар
  • +38(095) 630-90-82  Vodafone
  • +1(888)393-24-51  USA, Toll free
  • +44(131)507-01-14  Great Britain
  • +7(499) 348-28-61  Москва

2.24.3.10. Фишинговые письма

Фишинг — это вид мошенничества, который направлен на получение конфиденциальных данных для дальнейшего их использования третьими лицами. Достаточно часто фишинг распространяется через письма по электронной почте, в которых указывается какой-либо важный или крайне привлекательный контент. К примеру, очень распространён фишинг, направленный на получение логинов и паролей почтовых ящиков. Для этого рассылаются письма, сообщающие о необходимости прохождения верификации или проверки дисковой квоты в почтовом сервисе. При этом в самом письме будет ссылка или кнопка, направляющие на полную или частичную копию страницы авторизации целевого сервиса.

Часто достаточно сложно определить, является ли письмо фишингом или нет, потому при работе с письмами, где явно или косвенно запрашивают конфиденциальную информацию, следует придерживаться определённых правил:

  • Следует крайне внимательно отнестись к письмам, в которых явно или косвенно призывают ввести конфиденциальные данные на какой-то странице. Ни один сервис не будет запрашивать данные, которые уже были предоставлены ранее, потому такое письмо чаще всего будет являться фишингом.
  • Всегда следует перепроверять ссылки, которые предоставляются в письмах. Если пришло письмо от сервиса adm.tools, но ссылка в письме ведёт на service.tools, лучше не переходить по ней и вместо этого перейти на официальный сайт сервиса, от которого якобы пришло письмо, где перепроверить все необходимые действия или обратиться в техническую поддержку для получения большей информации.
    Совет При наведении на кнопку или ссылку в левом нижнем углу браузера будет показана полная ссылка, на которую будет произведен переход.
  • Рекомендуется обращать особое внимание на письма, отправленные от якобы доверенных лиц. Некоторые домены не имеют SPF-записи, в связи с чем отправка писем с подстановкой их домена вполне реальна, потому лучше лишний раз уточнить у отправителя по другим каналам связи относительно принятого письма.
  • Если письмо было отправлено с того же почтового ящика, на которое пришло, или с такого же домена, то следует его проверить более детально.
  • Не следует скачивать подозрительные файлы, какое бы расширение они не имели. Это правило относится не только к устройствам работающим на ОС Windows, сейчас огромное количество вредоносного ПО существует для всех платформ, включая macOS, iOS, Linux, Android и другие.
  • Письма, включающие в себя личную информацию получателя, не всегда означают, что злоумышленники имеют доступ к каким-либо конфиденциальным данным, потому такие письма лучше помещать в спам. Особенно данное правило касается писем с угрозами взлома или распространения информации. Злоумышленник, имеющий доступ к личной информации, не будет переспрашивать относительно её дальнейшего использования с вымоганием чего-либо, тем более, что огромная часть личной информации может быть найдена на просторах интернета, в большинстве своём, в открытых источниках, например контакты сайта или личные страницы в социальных сетях.
  • Старайтесь размещать как можно меньше личной информации, которая может быть использована для фишинга.
  • Всегда следует устанавливать самый высокий уровень антиспама, если это возможно. Средствами антиспама может отклоняться большое количество подозрительных писем.
  • Полученные подозрительные или явно фишинговые письма следует помещать в спам, а самого отправителя блокировать. На нашем хостинге это можно сделать при помощи черного списка или фильтров WebMail.

Если вы стали жертвой фишинга, следует в кратчайшие сроки принять соответствующие меры: